First piece of SPS! Turbinaria Pagoda? Turbinaria Reniformis?

Coidy92

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I'm quite new to reef keeping and after a few months of keeping LPS, I decided to purchase my first piece of sps. I decided on this large piece of Turbinaria but I'm having trouble finding information on the species.
First thing, I can't work out is if this is Turbinaria Pagoda or Turbinaria Reniformis? The Polyps are a yellow colour and the rest is a purple/brown colour.

From what I've researched I've placed the cup upright with Good lighting and good Flow. I've heard you need to fan the coral to keep detritus from settling within the coral Aswel.

I've had the coral in the tank for about 3 days so far but I haven't seen any polyp extension at all. I've checked at night and still no sign of polyp extension. Is this normal as all other corals I've put in the tank have usually settled within a day or two.

Any information, tips or help with this coral would help as there isn't a lot of information out there about them.

IMG_2949.JPG

IMG_2948.JPG

IMG_2950.JPG

JFrar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
cool coral, i've never really dug into the name too much. I've had a piece for 5 years or so now, it's approaching the size of a basketball lol. This coral has been very forgiving with any chemical swings in my tank. I've had it high in the tank and it was happy. And it currently sits on my sand bed and is still looking happy. I liked this coral so much i recently bought another color variation of it that is purple skin with orange polyps....

Wish i had scientific advise for ya but i don't Lol.... just my personal experience. I might have my pick on the computer I took about a year ago, I'lll check

JFrar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0