Acan Echinata Question

Frankey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Question for all you acan echinata fans.

I have had my echinata colony now for a couple of months. All of my corals seem to be loving their current water parameters and placement, as well as the Kessil lighting. I have a couple of other acan colonies throughout the tank and all are bright and full of amazing color. My question is this, where (location in tank) would the coral thrive? What would best copy the natural environment for light and current? I currently have the coral located on the sand in direct light with a mild current. Any pointers would greatly help.

This is a pic I took yesterday with my phone. Sorry about quality and the amount of blue, it was taken late. I am still learning how to use my new camera.

Ec.jpg

Jimbo662

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have my encinata mixed in with my other acans and it's completely happy and full. I've got the kessil A360we's, appx 10" above water and water depth is about 18". Intensity is at 47% and color at 35%. this is in my new cube. When in the 75g I just sold the intensity was 63% I think...I think with the cube there's a lot more light reflecting off the 3 sides cuasing it to be a lot brighter.

OP
OP
F

Frankey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Jimbo6662, thank you for the response. I have a nano bow front tank that was given to me from a good friend that is 30 gal. I have the same light. I have mine about 10" above water with a 24" deep tank. It ramps up to 65% intensity and 50% color during my mid day, or highest, setting.

Do you target feed?

Jimbo662

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe try ramping the intensity down a little. I target feed a couple of times a month.

OP
OP
F

Frankey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0